Teach me how to script please (could also be useful for others)

Rev707

Hello, I am rev707 and this is my first post in this forum.

I am new to the scripting and can't find a completed tutorial on the Internet. I want to ask an (experienced) programmer if he has some time to teach me, that would be great. I already have the basics.

Here is my first question: how can I check if a player makes his first platoon, and then execute some code?

Thanks a lot in advance.

This will detect and army made by a player
Have this running right at the beginning of the game, when the player creates an army it will detect it and TestPlatoon will not = 0 anymore and will exit loop.

TestPlatoon = 0

begin loop
        TestPlatoon = get platoon of player 0 nearest {Town[0]} radius 300
        until TestPlatoon !=0
end loop

Thanks for the quick response.

So if i understand it right it looks if player zero has a platoon in a radius of 300 from town center zero and then it wil automatically end the loop?

But where do you find the commands you have used here? Are these 'statements'? Do I need to them by heart?

And what should I type if i want the enemy to build planned buildings?

Thanks again,
Rev707

the commands are in
C:\Program Files\Lionhead Studios\Black & White 2\Tools\Script Language Documentation
go to the full index it has every command you will ever need.

Yes you are right on how those commands work.

To build planned building is tricky because in the .bwe file you need to select the building or buildings. on the dialog window there will be a planned button on the bottom select that to make it a planned building then place them in a group, for example group 1

Then you need to go to your script and use the command

build all town Town[0] buildings in group 1

or you can create it right in the script by this code. This one will take longer.

Building1 = 0

Building1 = create with angle 0 and scale 1 SCRIPT_OBJECT_TYPE_ABODE ABODE_NUMBER_STORAGE_PIT at {Location1}