New Creature - Questions

Monkey Man

I'm a creature training newbie, and I'm sure you guys are getting tired of answering the same Questions all the time ( :sorry), but here goes:

I'm looking to train a good tortoise  :angel.

1. I've read about 20 guides on the internet, but never managed to make my creature 'self sufficient'. (eating, sleeping, etc.) Help?

2. What's the best food for him to eat, and in what quantity?

3. I get him to sleep a night, and when else: tired or exhausted?

4. When should I start teaching him miracles, straight away or when he's ~a year old?

5. Whats the best training map to use?

Thanks in advance.

I am biased but a quick guide as to how I do it...Select a creature.
Use my Extreme Growth  map/system or similar, to get him full size.
Now  use a training map to teach  the 3 miracles you  want him to use most.
Now specific answers.
1. The less you interfere with your creature the  more independent he will be.
2. Fish in most lands or skirmish. As much as he likes the more fat the better from a practical point of view.
3. Night for growth or any time to recover.
4. As you think  he can help more with them.
5.  The best map....There  is none.....because it depends on what you want  from a map/the game.
To be frank...B&W is a personal journey and you should  choose your own  route.
But just remember to have some fun. :D

I pretty much did what Gremxula said, probably initially at his suggestion. He knows what he's talking about. As for my answers...