BW1 & CI Tool Requests

Moron

I'm a programmer (Primarily C#) who likes messing around with and trying to reverse engineer games (Mostly file formats, hex editing, and snooping around in the memory, I'm no good with a disassembler yet), and just in the past couple weeks or so decided to turn my attention to Black & White. Been messing around with various things, picked up a copy of the the B&W Platinum Pack for Mac (i.e.: the version with the scripts), both prima guides just on the off chance they mention something worth looking into, and a p5 glove (lol). Just started on a comprehensive registry tool for B&W since there doesn't seem to be one, and started up a wiki for whatever technical information I can find out myself or scrounge up from other sources, both of which I'll release once I get them to a useful state.

Just posting this to take requests. If there are tools you'd like made, parts of the game you'd like investigated, or any some such things, reply to this thread and let me know. I work full time so progress will probably be slow going, but I'd like to try and breathe some more life into the B&W community.

So the fun thing about the registry in Black & White - is how most of the options are actually used. The game reads the registry values but never applies them to any global variables.
And good pickup of the B&W Platinum Pack for Mac, if you have IDA the executable contains symbols which makes reverse engineering 1000x easier then the Windows version.

You can find a lot of reverse-engineering work here for both BW1 and BW2: https://github.com/openblack (a lot of the LHVM work from BW2 can be translated over to BW1 as it's the same file format).

You can also join the Discord if you want to talk to me (I know pretty much all the file formats the game has): https://discord.gg/u4q7fS